Niemann Elected As County Board Chairman

Effingham, IL / Effingham Radio
Niemann Elected As County Board Chairman

District B Representative Jim Niemann was reelected as County Board Chairman at Monday’s County Re-Organizational Meeting. Niemann has served on the board since 2010. After two years of being a board member, he was elected as board chairman and has served in that capacity since. He said that one of his goals as chairman is get the county’s budget in line.

“I’d like to helps us get our budget solidified, and determine which way we’re going to have to go to make sure everything’s going to remain solvent as we work with the state on their issues,” Niemann said

He hopes that the county can finally put a lid on a few lawsuits as well.

“Hopefully we can put a couple of the lawsuits we have pending right now to bed and get those and get those taken care of,” he continued.

Niemann and the new Vice Chairman, and District D Representative, David Campbell were voted in unanimously.

Newly elected board members were also sworn in at Monday’s meeting including Lloyd Foster (District A), Joe Thoele (District I), Rob Arnold (District H), and Jeff Simpson (District F). District E Representative John Perry was sworn in last week.

The board also voted to expand the Ambulance Oversight Committee one additional seat. Former board member Mike DePoister was appointed to sit on that committee.

Newly reelected County Board Chairman Jim Niemann discusses his goals.

The County Board also approved committee assignments at Monday’s meeting. Jeff  Simpson will chair the Legislative Committee of the Whole with Jim Niemann as vice chair. Rob Arnold will stay as chairman of Tax and Finance with Simpson as vice chair. Joe Thoele will head Road and Bridge with Vice Chair Doug McCain. Simpson will also sit on Road and Bridge. Karen Luchtefeld will chair the Insurance Committee with Simpson as vice chair. Newly elected John Perry will also sit on that committee. The Health Services Committee will be chaired by McCain with Dave Campbell as vice chair. Lloyd Foster will sit on that committee as well. Luchtefeld will also chair the Reports Committee with Vice-Chair Joe Thoele and Lloyd Foster. Niemann will sit as Public Safety Chairman with Arnold as vice chairman. Campbell will also sit on that committee. Thoele will also head Buildings and Grounds. Foster and McCain will be on Buildings and Grounds as well.

Download the free Effingham Radio app for music, news, contests and more!


Top Stories